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Each summer many cadets 14 years or older are preparing to enter the workforce doing a variety of jobs that will help them earn money and teach them valuable skills. The U.S. Department of Labor and the Occupational Safety and Health Administration has laws governing the wages and safety of teenage workers.

Work Permits

Work permits are required for all minors under the age of 18 to work in the State of Maryland. Work permits are issued by Issuing Officers in Maryland Secondary Schools (minors and their parents are encouraged to contact their local school to obtain a work permit).

Minimum Wage Law

The current Federal minimum wage is $5.15-per-hour. Employees under 20 years of age may be paid $4.25-per-hour during their first 90 consecutive calendar days of employment with an employer. Employers of “tipped employees” (minimum monthly tip received is more than $30) must pay a cash wage of at least $2.13-per-hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If the employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage does not at least equal the minimum hourly wage, then the employer must make up the difference. Overtime pay is 1½ times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40-hours in a workweek. The State of Maryland does not have current dollar minimums. Instead, Maryland adopted the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

Work Hour Restrictions

Youth 14 and 15 Years Old:

While school is In Session:
1) Can NOT work during school hours

2) Can NOT work more than 3 hours on any school day, or more than 8 hours on Saturday or non-school day

3) Can NOT work more than 18 hours per week

4) Can NOT work at night (between 7 PM and 7 AM)

During School Break or Summer:
1) Can work up to 8 hours-per-day

2) Can work up to 40 hours-per-week

3) Can work until 9 PM (late June through Labor Day)
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Youth 16 and 17 Years Old:

While school is In Session:
1) Can NOT work more than 4 hours during school day

2) Can NOT work more than 8 hours on Friday, Saturday, Sunday or a holiday

3) Can NOT work more than 28 hours per week

4) Can NOT work past 10 PM

During School Break or Summer:
1) Can work up to 8 hours-per-day

2) Can work up to 40 hours-per-week

3) Can work until 12 midnight (late June through Labor Day)

Youth 18 Years or Older:

May perform any job for unlimited hours

Work Type Restrictions

Youth Under 18 Years Old:

Youth under 18 years of age may NOT do the following:

1) Drive a motor vehicle or operate a forklift

2) Operate power-driven equipment such as circular saw, box crusher, meat slicer, bakery machine, hoist, paper-product machines, or similar equipment

3) Work in wrecking, demolition, excavation, or roofing

4) Work in mining, logging, or a sawmill

5) Work where there is exposure to radiation

6) Work where explosives are manufactured or stored

Youth 14 and 15 Years Old:

In addition to the above list for under 18 year olds, the 14 or 15 year olds may also NOT do the following:

1) Bake or cook on the job (except at a serving counter)

2) Freezers or meat coolers work

3) Work on ladder or scaffold

4) Work in warehouses
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Youth 14 and 15 Years Old – cont’d.

5) Work in meat processing area

6) Work in construction, building, manufacturing, or mining operations

7) Load or unload a truck, railroad car, or conveyor

Protection for Teenage Workers

OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) is the Federal Government Agency that develops and enforces safety laws. Filing an OSHA complaint is complicated and should only be done when you and your co-workers believe that an OSHA inspection will be effective in eliminating a hazard in the workplace.

Teenage Workers’ Rights under OSHA

Refuse to Work

You have the right to refuse to work if you believe in good faith that the job or conditions are dangerous and are exposing you to imminent danger. Call 800-321-OSHA immediately to report imminent dangers.

Speak Up

If you notice a safety hazard at work, report it to your supervisor or boss. If they don’t address your concerns, file a complaint with OSHA or your State Labor Offices. Remember, it is illegal for your employer to punish or fire you for reporting a workplace problem.

Work Only the Limited Hours and the Types of Work Permitted by State and Federal Laws

See Work Type Restrictions above.

Get Training

You have the right to get training about health and safety, including information about machines, job tasks, and hazardous chemicals and materials that could be harmful to your health

Demand Payment for Your Work

See Wage Law above.

Ask for Payment for Medical Care (Workers’ Compensation) If You Get Injured or Sick Because of Your Job

In addition to medical care, you may also be entitled to payment for lost wages, if you miss work because of your work related injury.
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Teenage Workers’ Rights under OSHA – cont’d.

Work Without Racial or Sexual Harassment

Contact the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunities Commission to report racial or sexual harassment.

Teenage Workers’ Responsibilities

Follow Your Employer’s Safety and Health Rules

You must follow your employer’s safety and health rules, and wear or use all required gear and equipment.

Follow Safe Work Practices

You must follow safe work practices for your job, as directed by your employer and/or supervisor. Working safely may slow you down, but ignoring safe work procedures is a fast track to injury.

Ask Questions

Ask for workplace training if it is not offered. Ask how to deal with irate customers or how to perform a new task or use a new machine. Don’t worry about looking ignorant. Asking questions will help you stay safe!

Tell Your Supervisor, Boss, Parent, or Other Adult If You Feel Threatened or Endangered at Work

If your employer does not address your concerns, report hazardous conditions to OSHA or your State Labor Offices.

Be Involved in Establishing or Improving Your Workplace Safety and Health Program

Take an active role in this.

TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS

If someone asks you to do something that feels unsafe or makes you uncomfortable, check with your supervisor or safety officer before doing the task. TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS! Keeping yourself safe is your first responsibility!

GET MORE INFORMATION
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